Advertising space
What international financial certifications exist?
Financial Education

What international financial certifications exist?

There are numerous internationally valid financial certifications that validate knowledge in this field.
Imagen del autor

11 MAY, 2023

By Constanza Ramos


Since the entry into force of the European MiFID II directive, regulators and companies have been paying particular attention to the training of professionals involved in the information and sale of financial products. For this reason, there are numerous financial certifications with international validity that validate knowledge in this field. Here are the most important ones.

Certified Financial Planner (CFP)

The CFP is a certification that certifies the professional's ability in all areas related to financial planning. Candidates must study over one hundred different topics, including financial instruments, insurance, taxation, estate planning and retirement planning.

This financial certification has been issued by the Financial Planning Standards Board (FPSB) since 1985 and is the definitive professional designation for financial planners and advisors. Currently, there are more than 140,000 CFP professionals worldwide.

What are the requirements to obtain the CFP certification?

To obtain CFP certification, candidates must meet several requirements:

How is the CFP certification exam structured?

The CFP certification exam lasts 10 hours and consists of 285 questions, divided into one four-hour session on the first day and two three-hour sessions on the second day. The exam includes two case studies and independent questions. It is designed to assess the student's ability to apply their knowledge in the above areas to financial planning situations.

Who is the CFP certification for?

The CFP certification accredits all those who wish to work professionally in the fields of:

In addition, the CFP training can be validated as part of the Master's in Banking and Quantitative Finance.

Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA)

The Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) is a certification granted by the CFA Institute, an international non-profit association founded in the United States in 1947. Since 1963, it has focused on specific activities in the financial world, with special emphasis on asset management and investment analysis.

What are the requirements to obtain the CFA certification?

To obtain the CFA certification, it is necessary:

Unlike other certifications, it is not necessary to periodically renew the knowledge, it is sufficient to renew the code of ethics clause.

How is the CFA certification exam structured?

The CFA certification exams are conducted entirely in English and are divided into three levels. The exam is the same and takes place on the same day all over the world, making the certification a passport to the international financial world.

Who is the CFA certification for?

The CFA degree is aimed at professionals who wish to specialize in the world of investment and financial markets, particularly in investment management and financial analysis.

The certificate of the Chartered Institute for Securities & Investment (CISI)

The CISI certification is a highly valued acceptance in the financial industry that aims to certify knowledge, integrity and ethics in the financial sector and to ensure that finance professionals have the most advanced technical training and management skills necessary to ensure quality financial management at an international level.

What are the requirements to obtain the CISI certification?

The requirements for CISI certification are as follows

How is the CISI certification exam structured?

The CISI certification exam is a multiple-choice exam covering a wide range of topics related to the chosen syllabus. Exams are timed and last between two and three hours. Candidates can register for the exam online or at an authorized testing center. Results are communicated to candidates approximately two weeks after the exam date.

What types of CISI certifications are there?

Who is the CISI certification for?

The CISI certification is designed for financial professionals who wish to enhance their knowledge and skills in specific areas of the financial sector. The following professionals may consider obtaining CISI certification:

Advertising space